Happy Coming Out Day!

Coming out has been one of the scariest experiences in my life. The fact that most people I care about will not understand who I really am and what I am going through makes it more difficult. There is a sad misconception that being LGBTQ is a “choice” – and I am perpetually judged because I am in love with a woman. I felt that I have been looked down by people because they say it was against my faith in Abba. It takes guts, courage and heaps of prayers and support to withstand such. I know that I am being judged still – but being who I am in this short life made me take a stand. It isn’t wrong to be who you are or to love someone because you live a life of truth. This is a gift you give yourself. I know in my heart that Abba loves me the way I am – no more, no less – because He loves me UNCONDITIONALLY.

I am blessed to have come out of the closet. I was scared like crap but it was all worth it. I was able to filter out and keep the greatest and most wonderful people in my life. I lost friends but I met more beautiful people along the way. They have the hearts of gold – and those people are definitely worth keeping.

No, I won’t shove my sexuality down your throat because that isn’t right. What I am showing the world is the real me – so I may live freely.

There is something I ask of you though. If you know someone who is LGBTQ – open your minds and hearts to them. Being queer isn’t the entirety of who they are – but merely a portion of who they are. Embrace their queerness. Think of it this way, the reason why they have shown you their real selves is because they wanted to live a life of liberty and truth. They just wanted to be comfortable in their skin and they trust you enough. So go ahead – support and love them! You never know how much your acceptance really is to them – or should I say, to us.

Happy Coming Out Day!

Leave a Reply

